Turkey Shoot Guns

Discussion in 'Long Guns' started by snipin101, Nov 9, 2010.

1. snipin101

snipin101 Registered Member

Turkey shooting comps are going all around my house. So lets see some of them turkey guns. Ill start H&R topper 158 with 32inch barrel, full choke.

[​IMG]

2. turkeydance

turkeydance Registered Member

only last 4 inches count

since everything on the internet is 'true':
    i've seen information about shotgun chokes
    which state that barrel length is not a factor.
    only the Last Four Inches before the muzzle
    determine the choke. so, according to this,
    an XX-full turkey-shoot gun
    could have an 18" barrel.

3. brios

brios Hall of Shame

since im no expert it would make since but yet the longer the barrel the more accuracy i would suspect since its basically a smooth bore with shot in it but i think the long barrel has a role in all of this since ive never seen a
    18.5" with choke tubes come from a factory and the 870 has been around for a long while and they still use 26"+ length barrels with rem chokes to this day for all of there turkey guns

but im no expert but maybe a someone else knows the truth of the matter

will post pics soon but my turkey gun is either my
    old 20ga stevens pump or my trusty 12ga 870 express super mag.

4. Lysander

Lysander New Member

When slower burning black powder was used in shotgun shells extra barrel length did translate to more range. With the longer barrel, a higher percentage of the powder would ignite creating more thrust behind the shot stream. Today's smokeless powder burns so fast that barrel length is not a factor with regard to pattern or range.

5. snubbie

snubbie New Member