308 Load data questions

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by Erik the Red83, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Erik the Red83

Erik the Red83 Registered Member

I'm new to reloading and have not started just yet. I have a Remington R25 and Savage hog hunter, both 308 and 20in barrel with 1:10 twist. I have been researching plenty of load maps, powder brands, bullet brands, and primers. I have some questions that have been bugging me and I would like some advice from the experienced reloaders.
    Primer questions
    In the Speer manual #10 from 1979, they are using 165gr bullet and Winchester 748 with a magnum primer. Can I still use this data with large rifle primers instead? Is Winchester 748 a slow burning powder that needs/requires the extra ignition from a magnum primer? Is there an advantage to using magnum primers vs large rifle primers? Does the seating depth of a primer affect bullet accuracy?
    Case length question
    I have seen two case lengths, 2.005 and 2.008, which case length is generally ideal for 308?
    Powder brand question
    From your experience, is there a certain powder brand that you get the best performance with or have had the most success?
    Last two questions
    How can I tell if my rifles can handle compressed loads? Does having a muzzle brake have any affect on reloads?

2. 613jmm

613jmm U. S. Military Club Subscribed

I would research a more modern reloading source and make sure it matches up with the older data. Powder and primer formulations have changed over the years and that changes the loads published in books over time.