Thread: Open Carry Law in NC questions

Not Subscribed Senior Member

Open Carry Law in NC questions

Subscribe to Remove Post Ads (Also enjoy site upgrades, unlimited photo storage, 1,000 private messages, and more!)
    Had a tire replaced at a Walmart in southeastern NC today and it brought a few questions to mind.

To start off I am a SC resident, but live within about 15 minutes of the NC/SC border.

When not carrying, I normally keep a pistol in the glovebox or center console of the vehicle I am driving as does my wife (no cwp for her at this time), l didn't today, because I knew I was going into NC, and don't know your laws that well.

1. Let's say that I want to carry in NC, what are my options? In SC my gun must basically be on my person or in a "pocketbook" type bag (with CWP), or in glovebox/center console, or the "trunk". I know without a NC CHP, glovebox/center console is a big no no, as it is considered concealed.

2. This basically feeds off 1, stop once in NC at a gas station, Walmart, McDonald's wherever and need to go in, I obviously cannot carry concealed in NC with my SC cwp, can I throw it on OWB and make sure my shirttale/jacket doesn't partially conceal it, I know NC allows open carry for residents, what about visitors?

If you have a valid SC CHP/CCW permit you are fine to conceal. The glovebox or console IS concealed.
    NRA Life Member, NC CCH Instructor, NRA Pistol Instructor, NRA Chief Range Safety Officer, Refuse To Be A Victim Instructor

IMPORTANT LINK: NC Department of Justice Concealed Weapons Reciprocity page

Other States' Permits Honored Here

Effective December 1, 2011, North Carolina automatically recognizes concealed carry permits issued in any other state.

Out-of-state permit holders should familiarize themselves with North Carolina’s laws.

For example, in North Carolina, concealed handguns may not be carried:
    • In law enforcement or correctional facilities such as a prison;