Ac motor diagnosis request.

Discussion in 'DIY Section' started by Lager, Mar 12, 2017.

1. Lager

Lager Registered Member

I have an oil less air compressor manufactured by Campbell Hausfeld and its not that old and has only been cycled on about 12 times. But, One day, it just would not come on.
    I'm well versed in 12 volt systems since I'm an auto tech but 120 volt baffles me a little.
    There is a control unit that has cut off switches and this controls the voltage to the motor. I have 120 v to the motor white and black wires coming out of the control unit.
    If I place my DVOM set on resistance and place the leads on :
    Black and white wires going to the motor, capacitor connected= OL or open circuit
    Both black and white to motor case= OL
    From what Ive read, this tell me that there is an open circuit in the windings, and it needs a new motor.
    Then I checked the capacitor disconnected and removed for resistance.
    One way, I get 5 million ohms slowly increasing in resistance.
    If I flip the leads, I get 2.5 million ohms slowly decreasing in resistance.
    Either terminal checked to ground shows OL, meaning its not shorted to ground.
    From what Ive read, this means that the capacitor is faulty.
    Whats the chance of this happening ? None, any suggestions?

Attached Files:

2. 613jmm

613jmm U. S. Military Club Subscribed

You usually check a capacitor for capacitance, not resistance. There should be a value and a tolerance on the body of the capacitor. You need a volt meter with the ability to check capacitance, and just check with the probes as normal but make sure you discharge the capacitor first. The chances of the capacitor having gone bad on a motor that small is not very likely. They usually go bad over time.