"Best" AR-10?

Discussion in 'Long Guns' started by Flashpoint, Dec 8, 2016.

1. Flashpoint

Flashpoint Club Subscribed Club Subscribed

Last Christmas I posted asking for input selecting a scope my friend's mother could get him for Christmas. This year she wants to get him a rifle he wants, and he wants an AR-10 in 308. Budget is around $1K, up to say $1400. The recipient likes owning quality things, but will in all probability never come close to exploiting the difference between a $900 vs a $1600 rifle's capabilities. Not that he is not capable, he just never invests enough time to learn about long range shooting and I don't see that changing. He envisions shooting 600 to 700 yards.

So although I think a DPMS would serve him well I'm leaning toward a S&W okr Armalite just due to the "bragging rights" factor.

I admit I have no experience with any AR-10, my knowledge consists of only random comments I have read here. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited: Dec 8, 2016
  2. 1406

1406 Provider of Facts

I think that Ruger Precision Rifle in .308 is an awesome "AR-style" firearm. It's certainly not semi-automatic but it's got my attention for my next long gun purchase.

Mark Brooks likes this.
  3. 11B CIB

11B CIB Taking a break, eh Club Subscribed

Aero Precision

jeffncs likes this.
  4. simple

simple Member

image.jpeg I'm pretty satisfied with my RRA LAR X1. Sub $1600 off GB. I chose it over the Ruger, which is a fine rifle, because of the 18" barrel. I guess that makes me think it's more of a distance rifle. Who knows.

5. Flashpoint

Yes I held one, they are very impressive. I think this needs to be semi auto though.

6. fieldgrade

fieldgrade is gone Lifetime Member

I waited quite a while for the new Barnes to come out, I guess it was last year, but had a reality check when I saw the price at basically 2x their .556 rifles.
    $2500 i think.

nchiker1 likes this.
  7. Mark Brooks

Mark Brooks Registered Member