Ruger Old Army need info

Discussion in 'Handguns, Pistol Shooting' started by AKD, Jan 10, 2017.

1. AKD

AKD Registered Member

REcently picked up a Ruger Old Army Stainless.

This is my first attempt at blackpowder.
    I've been reading some posts here, and seen some good info.

What I'm wondering is, what do I need to have to shoot it and to clean it.
    Specifically, what type of powder, accessories (measure/wads/balls/etc).
    A fella had mentioned Buckhorn, I believe and said it was the best to shoot in terms of non-corrosive, and I'd love to hear your opinions on that too.

Any good info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. shadowsbane

shadowsbane En Mermoriam. Vendor

You won't find real blackpowder easily. But the pyrodex stuff works rather well.

Blackpowder is dirty. Very dirty. They make cleaning chemicals built for it, that work well. Forget what they are called right this second though.

And corrosive isn't acid. It is salt that soaks up water moisture. Easiest way to get rid of it is wash out the parts with boiling water to dissolve the salt then clean as per the instructions.

3. jimintheburg

jimintheburg Registered Member

If you are not aware of this-chain firing-, I would suggest that you google this to become aware of this to prevent this from happening. I have an old army and use over sized wads on top of the ball to prevent a spark from igniting the powder in a cylinder not aligned with the barrel.

4. AKD

AKD Registered Member

Thanks for the tips.

What I'm really asking is, what products do YOU use and why. Caps, balls, powder, etc.

5. carolina sorillo

carolina sorillo Registered Member