Carolina Shooters Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,035 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been loading for pistols and revolvers for a couple years now and would like to start loading for .223. I'll be loading for NRA High Power style shooting with an AR (White Oak upper being ordered tomorrow). So, lower volume, more care for accuracy. I'll keep to cheap factory stuff for carbine use.

What gear do I need that I don't have in my handgun kit? I load on a Dillon 550.

Case trimmer?
Go/no go gauges?
Powder trickler?
?

Comments on powder, bullets to get going with? 1:7 twist, 20".

·
Registered
1,823 Posts
a couple more gadgets to add to the list...

A primer pocket reamer to remove the crimp from USGI and other military brass
Case chamfer tools to put a bevel/chamfer on the case neck
Headspace gages for measuring case headspace and adjusting your sizing dies
OAL gages for measuring the OAL of the rounds. These measure off the ogive, not the bullet tip, for consistency

If loading on the Dillon, you may want to consider using a ball powder. Dillon measures can be finicky with extruded stick powders unless you spend the time to slick up the powder system. With a stock Dillon measure, I'd expect about .2 grain (or worse) variance with stick powder.

As far as bullets go, you can't go wrong with a Sierra bullet. The 77gr matchking is a proven bullet and will shoot well in most AR rifles. I recently bought some Nosler 77gr bullets but have yet to load any of them up. The 77gr will shoot well in the 1-7 twist and can shoot out to the 600yd line.

I shoot a 77gr at the short line and an 80gr at the long line.

200/300 load data
Sierra 77gr MK
24.1gr Varget
CCI 400 primer
USGI LC brass
2.25" OAL

600 load data
Sierra 80gr MK
24.5gr Varget
CCI 400 primer
USGI brass
seated to .015" off the lands