Carolina Shooters Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Wings of Gold 1990
6,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really want to start my own over the winter, Im a novice carpenter at best. Well maybe a little better than novice. Just wondering if anyone has ever built their own coop.

How hard was it? I know its a pretty vague question, Im hoping someone will share their experiences with me. I dont want to just buy a kit cuz theyre pretty pricey.

·
Wings of Gold 1990
6,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
4-6 birds tops

·
Staff
7,750 Posts
A coop or a "tractor"?...I built a coop. 4' x 8' with an 8' x 16' fenced pen attached. We "had" 6 hens and a rooster till they got picked off one by one by *****.
Planning to do some coop remodeling to prevent that from happening again, but we're waiting till we get a water supply to it. Twas a pain to shuttle water the
way we had it set up before.

·
Registered
508 Posts
I think he said he spent like 20 bucks. Looks like something from jungle. Sticks, plywood and bungie cord

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

·
Registered
41 Posts
I built one using shipping pallets that I got free. It ended up about 4x8. The back is two pallets across the back and one across the side, and the walls are two pallets high. It has six nesting boxes. I also put a door on the outside to collect eggs from the nesting boxes. I have 12 hens that nest in it. You could most likely do this on a smaller scale. Here are some pictures.

·
Wings of Gold 1990
6,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I might luck out and pick up one of those kits and just put one together myself in the spring. My wife is excited about the idea, but I can see her turning them all into pets and trying to bring them in the house.

Im still looking forward to it.