Best gun for ankle carry? | Carolina Shooters Club

Best gun for ankle carry?

Discussion in 'Handguns, Pistol Shooting' started by jbuchanan, Jan 31, 2013.

1. jbuchanan

jbuchanan Registered Member

Looking to get my cc and I am doing research on what to buy. I wear dress shirts(tucked in) for work, so my options are a pocket carry or ankle. I am leaning toward ankle just because I am thinking it would enable me to carry a little larger gun that might be a little more enjoyable to shoot as well. I am open to all suggestions. I have been looking at the LCR and the Kahr CM9 as possibilities, but as is obvious, I am a total newbie here. I would like to keep the initial purchase around $500. Thanks for the help.

2. B00GER

B00GER Club Subscribed Club Subscribed

I think you will be suprised at how impractical ankle carry can be.

I carry a Bersa .380 CC in my front pocket and it is virtually unnoticeable by me or anyone. Also, they make IWB holsters that you can easily tuck a shirt in with no problem.

The best thing to do is visit a few people and try out different weapons first.

Ankle carry, in my opinion, is the least practical as if you need to pull your pistol it being in you ankle is the furthest place from your shooting hand possible. This equates to extra time to present. Also, if you bend over to grab it you are vulnerable and if you lift your leg you are off balance.

Invest in a good pocket holster or a quality IWB and you will be much happier and far more prepared to defend yourself.

3. Catfish

Catfish 'Murica! eh? Club Subscribed

Look into tuckable IWB holsters. AlexAP makes a good one but the clips are still visible.