Carolina Shooters Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
885 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just watching the news and thinking about preps. So what do you think about storing gas? Can you do it safely? Is there a time limit, best practice, etc? Or is that a bad idea?

·
Banned
3,908 Posts
Just watching the news and thinking about preps. So what do you think about storing gas? Can you do it safely? Is there a time limit, best practice, etc? Or is that a bad idea?
You can't do it well. There is stuff like sta bil to keep it for a bit longer but it is very hygroscopic (it likes water). Kerosene keeps real well, and I understand that a diesel motor will run on it with very few mods, but I am not a diesel mechanic.

·
Les Deplorables
12,558 Posts
Getting at the stability issue, you could keep some in storage, but use and refresh that storage every X weeks/months.

shooter, I was wondering the same thing, as I suspect lots of people are. I bet we'll see some homes/garages turned into infernos over the next 12 months from people accidentally touching off stored gasoline.

·
Premium Member
6,053 Posts
Todays gas will not last much longer than 4 months. Also during that time it is sucking moister out of the air. So It will be crap for a vehicle. Maybe good to start a fire but thats about it.

·
Premium Member
6,305 Posts
I was talking with a friend who used to work for Pump and Tank in Greensboro the other night. We were discussing ethanol and he said that it starts to separate from the gasoline after 90 (I think, it may have been 60, I'll check with him) days. If there is the slightest bit of water in the gasoline he said the stuff with look like milk and it will not go back into suspension. And engines hate the stuff.