Carolina Shooters Forum banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Not Here Anymore.
5,350 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just pulled the trigger on a Canon T3i. I know its not the best camera out there, but it comes highly reviewed as a good starter camera.

What do I nee to know? Talk to me like I'm 4 years old.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Basically $$$ = sharpness with a lens. Spend your money here, but make sure this is something you for sure want to learn/invest in.

You bought a good entry-level DSLR. See if you want to spend the time to learn how to operate the camera, before you start investing. You really won't lose much on glass though.....the loss will be in the body itself, but that also depends on what body you have. I bought my first DSLR quite a while ago. I self-taught myself how to use it.......I cut the camera on manual and figured out how to expose shots, never looked back. Once I got some shots that I thought were decent, I started posting on the Canon forums (POTN) and asking for feedback. There I learned how to prioritize different settings to capture different things. For example, learning low light shots need a tripod/low ISO and a balance of a long exposure to the correct aperture.

The biggest thing to learn though, at least first, is how each setting affects another.......between exposure, aperture, and ISO. A good rule of thumb to start with, is knowing you ideally want to shoot with the lowest ISO possible.

·
Scofflaw Cyclist
2,765 Posts
Get your schooling here http://photography-on-the.net/forum/

Buy loads of memory cards, buy Lightroom (editing program, like photoshop), then get off the computer and get out and take pictures. Post what you take on POTN (link above) and swallow your pride. Then get better.

·
Registered
1,541 Posts