Carolina Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
3,753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started shooting rimfire last season (Caswell and DPRC) and wanted to check out the H20 matches- mostly because they sounded a bit different than the typical ruger rimfire setup.

Well, this weekend turned out to be the perfect opportunity. Caswell had a match at noon, but the 10AM start at H20 made it more attractive due to some other afternoon activities I had planned.

Well, it was definitely a different challenge!

All the targets were set at the same distance (15-20 yds I think).
8 stages, 3 strings per stage.
Another unique item was you picked either a pistol OR a rifle to run the whole match.
I brought both, so I just paid twice and shot each stage first with pistol, then with rifle.... several folks did the same.
7 of the 8 stages had 10 targets to engage! That meant ANY misses became costly... definitely a different strategy needed!

In the end, it was a bit challenging to shoot pistol and indeed, the vast majority of shooters only shot rifle. The combination of longer range, no misses allowed and some smaller targets mixed in- made it more enjoyable (for me) to shoot rifle. Having said that- i LOVE shooting rimfore rifle- so its a great option! Next time I may leave the pistol at home and bring my semi rifle and maybe my lever gun just for fun!

It turned to be just exactly what I wanted: a slightly different challenge, done before 1PM, and a lot of fun!

Highly recommended!

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
I have got to make the next one. Something is always coming up that has kept me from attending these. I don't know if I will shoot the first time I visit. In .22 all I have is a Marlin 60 that I haven't shot in years and a single action revolver.

·
Banned
3,753 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dont even think twice about it! Just come out.