Vanes vs feather. Short vs long | Carolina Shooters Club

Vanes vs feather. Short vs long

Discussion in 'Archery' started by fishgutzy, Oct 10, 2016.

1. fishgutzy

fishgutzy Club Subscribed Club Subscribed

Since I started shooting I have used 4" feather (fake) fletched arrows.
    In China they use exclusively short vanes on skinny arrows. I'm guessing this is the Olympic set up since nobody in the city actually goes hunting or even 3d target shooting.

Does it really make that much difference in accuracy whether one has short (2 to 3") vanes or 4" fake feathers?

At Field & Steam I got the "short vanes are for compound."
    I shoot traditional.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
  2. georgel

georgel Club Subscribed Club Subscribed

http://www.lancasterarchery.com/blog/feathers-vs-vanes-heres-what-you-need-to-know/

A comment from a thread about this topic on ArcheryTalk...

scott pretty much nailed it here...if you are tuned perfectly, blazers (or other small vane) IMO are better 1-they are MUCH quieter in flight and 2-, if they get wet, you'll have no problems....if you are NOT perfectly tuned or are getting minor fletch contact, etc...feathers will definately right some wrongs.....pretty much why you don't see any traditional guys use vanes

When I researched this a while back, I seem to remember I need to try feathers with my trad bow. Hadn't gotten there yet. :(

Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
    fishgutzy likes this.
  3. chiefjason

chiefjason Vendor Vendor

The reason trad guys use feathers is because of the contact. If you shoot a plunger the feathers move around the riser, vanes kick the arrow off the rest and riser. You will see some folks shooting whisker biscuit or hostage rests on recurves so they can shoot vanes. But there are problems with that. Had a kid trying to shoot a WB and his riser was too small. Pointed his arrow left instead of straight.